The "Who" and "Membership" fields in reports and Change Summaries show incorrect data after renaming a user account

This article explains how to apply SharePoint synchronization to user accounts.
Email It to Me Print this Page
Symptoms You receive reports and Change Summaries with incorrect "Who" and/or "Membership" fileds and both of the following conditions are met:
  • The "Content Changes" and "Group Membership" options selected when creating a Monitoring Plan (Managed Object in the versions older than 9.0) for auditing SharePoint Farm.
  • One or more of user accounts were renamed. 
Cause SharePoint synchronization has not been applied or works incorrectly with Active Directory.
Resolution To resolve this issue, follow the steps in the Microsoft support article for SharePoint Foundation 2007 - 2013:
  1. Open a command prompt, type the following command, and then press ENTER:
stsadm.exe -o migrateuser -oldlogin <Domain name\Old user name> -newlogin <Domain name\New user name> -ignoresidhistory

This command automatically updates the account name, and the command maintains the correct permissions for the account. 
 
Note: Run this command only on user accounts that are in the same domain. Otherwise, you may experience permission problems.
  1. To perform full synchronization for all users, do the following:
  • Verify that the user account that is performing this procedure is a member of the Farm Administrators group.
  • On the Central Administration Home page, select Monitoring -> Timer Jobs and click Review job definitions.
  • On the Job Definitions page, select the "User Profile to SharePoint Full Synchronization". On the edit Timer Job page, click Run now.
Note: Synchronization applies only to newly made changes. The "Who" and "Membership" fields for your past changes will be reported incorrectly anyway. 

On the first Change Summary or report generation, you may receive fake change—adding a new account to a group.
Was this information helpful?